Modern Greek Studies Association

MGSA Administration

As defined in its constitution, the MGSA’s governance consists of a twelve-member Executive Board that is elected by the members every three years. The Executive Board in turn elects, from among its own ranks, the Association's officers: the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, and the Treasurer. In the selection of candidates for the Executive Board, every effort is made to provide representation for both the principal academic fields active in the Association and the different geographic regions of the United States in which members live and work. Executive Board members may serve up to two consecutive terms. After completing two terms, however, they must sit out for at least three years before standing for election again.

The Executive Board is aided in their administrative duties by the Executive Director of the Association. The Executive Director, who is appointed by the Executive Board, oversees the day-to-day administration of the property, assets, affairs, and business of the Association.

Download a copy of our constitution or read it online Amended 8/2015


In order to promote access to information about activities of possible interest to its members and to provide for jointly sponsored meetings focusing on shared themes the MGSA has become affiliated with other professional organizations. Currently these include:

Standing Committees

In order to facilitate the Association’s business, the Constitution allows the Executive Board to establish both standing and ad hoc committees that are entrusted to oversee specific aspects of the Association’s business. Each committee contains at least one Executive Board member, who generally serves as the chair. The chair recruits other members, from both the Executive Board and the general membership, and convenes the committee.

Currently, the Executive Board mandates the following committees:

  • Administration Committee: Chair, Susan Sutton
  • Computers and Technology Committee: Chair, Sakis Gekas
  • Financial Advisory Committee: Chair, Franklin Hess
  • Fund Raising and Long-Term Planning Committee: Chair, Kostis Kourelis
  • Graduate Studies Committee: Chair, Karen Emmerich
  • Membership and Publicity Committee: Chair, Katerina Lagos
  • Nominations Committee: Chair, Artemis Leontis
  • Publications Committee: Chair, Tassos Anastassiadis
  • Undergraduate Studies Committee: Chair, Artemis Leontis
  • Transnational Studies Committee: Chairs, Yiorgos Anagnostou and Kostis Kourelis
  • Library Committee: Chair, Anthony Oddo

Committee mandates and details can be viewed here.

Current MGSA Officers

President: Neovi Karakatsanis
Political Science,
Indiana University - South Bend

Vice-President: Yiorgos Anagnostou
Greek and Latin
The Ohio State University

Secretary: Gerasimus Katsan European Languages & Literatures, Queens College

Treasurer: Kostis Kourelis Art History, Franklin and Marshall College

Current Executive Board

Gonda Van Steen Executive Director
Center for Greek Studies
University of Florida

Yiorgos Anagnostou Greek and Latin
The Ohio State University

Tassos Anastassiadis Modern Greek Studies, McGill University

Karen Emmerich Comparative Literature
Princeton University

Sakis Gekas Dept. of History,
York University

Franklin Hess Modern Greek Program
Indiana Universirty

Neovi Karakatsanis Political Science
Indiana University - South Bend

Gerasimus Katsan European Languages & Literatures, Queens College

Eugenia Georges Anthropology
Rice University

Kostis Kourelis Art History
Franklin and Marshall College

Katerina Lagos Hellenic Studies
California State University, Sacramento

Artemis Leontis, Classical Studies
University of Michigan

Susan Buck Sutton International Initiatives, Bryn Mawr College

Christopher Grafos York University Graduate Student Representative